Kingfisher Library

Edward Arnold & Co. (London, UK)
Series dates: 1931-1952
Size: 4.5″ x 7″


Arnold’s Kingfisher Library was issued in two periods, with 15 titles published in 1931-1933 (the book shown here is 1932) and one additional title and a few reprints in the late 1940s and early 1950s.

As with many publisher series, the books are drawn from Arnold’s back catalog. There is a particular emphasis on travel, exploration, and adventure. The jackets are common in design, with author/title printed in a box on the front of the jacket.


A catalog of titles (as of 1932) is included on the back of the jacket. The price is 3s. 6d.


Titles were issued in 1931-33 (15 titles) and 1946 (one title). Reprints well after the initial date of publication in the series are also noted.

Tales of Ægean intrigue, by J.C. Lawson
Unscientific Essays, by F. Wood Jones
Through Tibet to Everest, by J.B.L. Noel
The Unveiling of Lhasa, by Edmund Candler
Tante, by Anne Douglas Sedgwick

A Passage to India, by E.M. Forster (1945)
Howards End, by E.M. Forster (1947)
The Seething Pot, by George A. Birmingham
The Wood People and Others, by Maud D. Haviland
Shepherd Easton’s Daughter, by Mary J.H. Skrine
The Adventures of Dunsterforce, L.C. Dunsterville
The Port Allington Stories, by R.E. Vernede

The Romance of Plant Hunting, by F. Kingdon-Ward
Within Four Walls, by Michael Charles Cooper Harrison & Henry Antrobus Cartwright
The Life of a Tiger and Life of an Elephant, by Sir S. Eardley-Wilmot & Iris Eardley-Wilmot

Moonfleet, by John Meade Falkner (1952)

Cloth binding is stamped with the kingfisher logo and the name of the series. The series name is included in the book itself.


The end of the book devotes four pages to descriptions of the books in the series (click for more detail).