Acme Library

aka/ Heinemann’s Acme Library

William Heinemann (London, UK)
Series Dates: 1921
Size: 5″ x 7.75″

“The Acme of Success”

The Acme Library series does not seem to have survived past its initial offering of six titles in 1921. Pricing is included on a common-design dust jacket (with the book title and author stamped in red on the cover and spine).


The book itself is on the larger side of typical reprint series titles. The binding indicates the series name and title/author.


The six titles in the initial offering of the series in 1921 are detailed on the back of the dust jacket:


Books in Heinemann’s Acme Library (all 1921):

Robert Hitchens, Bella Donna
Jack London, Martin Eden
Joseph Conrad, Typhoon and Three Other Stories
Joseph Conrad, The Nigger of the Narcissus
W. Somerset Maugham, The Moon and Sixpence
The Author of Pam (Sacha Gregory), Yellowleaf

The jacket flaps include information about another Heinemann series and its Popular Novels. The front flap includes eleven Hall Caine novels (Caine was one of the principles involved in publishing the Readers Library). Additional novels in Heinemann’s Popular Novels series are included on the back flap: