The Crowell Poets

Thomas Y. Crowell Co. (New York, US)
Series dates: 1964-1973
Size: 5.5″ x 8″

Update 6/21/2024

Publishers Weekly (Volume 184, 1963, p. 53) announced The Crowell Poets, with initial volumes issued in April 1964. The editor was Lillian Morrison, coordinator of Young Adult Services at the New York Public Library. This series is distinct from the earlier, long-running Crowell’s Poets series, which ended in the early 1930s. Twenty titles were issued between 1964 and 1973.

William Blake, Poems
Robert Browning, Poems
Stephen Crane, Poems
John Keates, Poems
Alfred Tennyson, Poems
Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass (reprint 1978)
William Wordsworth, Poems

Ralph Waldo Emerson, Poems
Edgar Allen Poe, Poems

Robert Burns, Poems
Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Poems
W.S. Gilbert, Poems
Robert Herrick, Poems
Henry Longfellow, Poems
William Shakespeare, Poems

Thomas Hood, Poems
Percy Bysshe Shelley, Poemsv

George Gordon, Lord Byron, Poems

Lewis Carroll, Poems
Robert Lewis Stevenson, Poems

This copy of the Poems of William Shakespeare, selected by Lloyd Frankenberg with drawings by Nonny Hogrogian is typical of the series, which had unique illustrated jackets. The series name is not indicated on the spine, jacket front nor front jacket flap. A blurb about the title is included on the front jacket flap.

The series name and a list of titles (the initial 11 titles) is on the rear jacket flap and the illustration from the jacket front is reproduced.

Cloth bindings, in this case, red with black typography.

Blank endpapers:

The half-title page with an illustration:

The illustrated title page:

Copyright 1966. This is a first edition of this title.