Everyman’s University Library

Dent & Sons Ltd. (London, UK)
Series dates: 1972-1988
Size: 7.75″ x 5″

everyuniv_logoEveryman’s University Library came near the end of the long-running Everyman’s Library series. The series included some traditional Everyman’s titles (sometimes with new introductions) and some new titles. Some titles list Dutton on the imprint but it’s not clear if the series was sold in the U.S. At least 77 titles were issued, in both hardcover and paperback, before the series ended in 1988 when Dent & Sons were absorbed by Weidenfeld & Nicholson.

A 1972 edition of Burton’s The Anatomy of Melancholy is an example of an old Everyman’s title repackaged as part of Everyman’s University Library. The Anatomy of Melancholy was originally published in Everyman’s Library in three volumes in 1932. The three were combined into one volume as one of the two volumes in Dent’s Treble Volumes in 1936. The same combined volumes comprise this book in Everyman’s University Library.

Jackets for books in the Everyman’s University Library have new designs that are largely unique to the titles. A new logo, the pilgrim from the Everyman morality play, graces the front of the jacket. Dent’s logo along with the title’s serial number (in this case corresponding to one of the three original serial numbers for the title) is on the jacket spine. The front jacket flap lists other series titles. The price is 5 pounds.


A summary of the book is included on the back of the jacket. The back flap continues titles in the series.


Solid cloth bindings, this one in red, with gold stamping.


The half title page includes only the series logo.


The title page is facing a brief biography of the author:


Copyright page: